river stuff

Yoohoo

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I am VERY new to this. I have helped do one wedding and other than that I throw out more than I keep at this point. Here are a couple I took yesterday when I went back down to the river where I spent most of my childhood. I have a canon 7d and these pics were with my 50mm 1.8. They are not edited in anyway. So editing tips are appreciated as well.

_MG_0201_zps6d2080f6.jpg

_MG_0213_zpsf2a83101.jpg

_MG_0207_zps64624739.jpg

_MG_0205_zpsa454f7aa.jpg

Nice start. Here's where the C&C starts. Keep working on subject matter, composition, and focus. And keep takng pictues and submitting them. It only gets better

Yeah, exactly what that old hippy said. There's nothing particularly interesting in these shots, but it's the first brick of a house. Find an interesting subject, large or small, then build around that. Good start :thumbup:

My eyes are going all over the place. There is no real central focal point. First, I would start with your message. What are you trying to convey here? Then, set up your shot in your head from there. Once you get a better vision, your end results will be more cohesive.

Avoid shooting mid day without good reason and a little lighting help. The light is uninteresting and harsh. Rules are meant to be broken but this one is tough to beat; mid day light needs help, or at least stronger subjects than just a view of the woods or some rocks and water. Not much is happening in any of the pictures, with 3 the least. Also, learn metering and exposure. The highlights are blown out in two of the images. Again blown highlights can work if you're going for a particular look, but mostly you want to keep detail there. When shooting waterfalls and rivers, wait for clouds to cover the scene. In bright sun the water highlights are always blown out and the contrast is too harsh.

There is something really odd about image #1.