Shooting on private property

Nightsblood

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I live in the land of farms. Tons of farm land, beautiful areas to photo.

Do you find that folks generally will allow you to shoot photos on their land or not? I figure they would have to worry about liability and such.

I thought trespassing comprised half the fun of photography...

Sorry guys, totally forgot the search tool.

And, Im a police officer and pleading ignorance to a class 1 misdemeanor is not a viable option. Not to mention, most of the property owners in this area have guns.

Not Good! :sillysmi:

Just be quick or dont be quickand really set up a good shot. If someone wants to prosecute you for taking photos on their property let them.. Unless you run into some super d*ck I cant imagine someone going after you for shooting on their property. Although I dont really understand people that well so I may be way off. I was recently shooting on someones farm I was on the edge of their property mind you. Who I can only assume was the owner came out of his house crossed his arms and glared at me. I looked right at him made eye contact and went about taking more photos, I left because my card filled up but I must have been there for ten minutes while he just glared... Ultimatly though he did nothing and I got a couple decent shots. If the guy had come over to me and asked me to leave I would have, if he had asked what I was doing I would have told him and even offer to frame him a photo of his house or the great view he gets from it, but just standing there trying to ntimidate me is going to do nothing.. I hate jerks like that guy.

In my experience a lot of "private" areas have great shots.

Mind providing a link for the original poster? ;)

http://www.thephotoforum.com/forum/showthread.php?t=42752
http://www.thephotoforum.com/forum/showthread.php?t=87349
http://www.thephotoforum.com/forum/showthread.php?t=81775