State of the Industry

LeeCSP

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
I'm new here. I was a professional photographer for about 6-7 years and had a studio in Columbia, SC. I left the business for a few reasons and after a couple years am considering coming back. My question to you is basically, how is business? I know that can vary, depending on a lot of things. I am in a more rural area, but have a good range of potential clients within about an hours drive. I want to mainly focus on business/commercial portraits and kids. I know when I left, the market was flooded and I'm guessing it is no less flooded now. Anyways, just asking your thoughts if you are willing to give them. Thanks!!!

Well, perhaps I can sketch out an slightly less than intuitive jump. The supply of free high quality Getty images will make commercial low level photography even less of an profitable niche and will also make the stock photo market become even less lucrative. Many more lower level folks who might make a few bucks that way will migrate sideways into the currently crowded field of baby and senior pictures.

A business niche being besieged by free stuff on one side and more competition on the other with very low barriers to entry doesn't seem like a good career to plan on. I think most people who have been in business or written business plans for investors would see that connection.

To me it's like planning to open a video store in the current marketplace.

Clear enough?

That doesn't even begin to remotely answer the OP's question...
A complete answer would take a lot of research and a book length response which is likely why no one before today had replied to a thread started several days ago.

The link provided certainly makes a comment on at least one segment of the the current state of the industry when it notes that theft of stock images has become endemic on the Internet.