Still Not Clear

M

MDowdey

Whats the best way to guage the exposure for night shots? you guys seem to have really good exposures at night, and i dont even know where to begin. whats the secret?

md

First, break out the tripod. :wink:

Seems all my night shots have been done on 100 ASA slide film. I have limited experience, but have always selected a single luminous surface and spot-metered off of it. Whatever the reading might be - 15 seconds at f16, say - I set my camera to self-timer mode and fire away. I always bracket by half-stops.

This simplistic method does not account for instances of reciprocity failure, but I haven't encountered that yet. All my shots have come out fine this way, shooting traffic, neon signs, and buildings.

I'll let heavier hitters weigh in at this point. :wink:

Everyone kinda has there own take on the whole thing but consistancy with technique is the key with everyone developing their own style and methods once you get the hang of it. But here's mine for one example.

I started out not trying to reinvent the wheel and just followed in the footsteps of the giants in the field. What I have settled into is a little of everything from each person I modeled after. I shoot 100ISO only with Fuji 64T being my only exception, and a fairly new one at that.

I shoot everything at f/5.6 so my only variable is time. For what I'm doing, there is a five day window to shoot each month. 2 nights before, the night of, and 2 nights after a full moon.

My exposures all range from 5 to 15 minutes during a full moon and vary accordingly on the surrounding evenings by about a half stop each night on the average depending on what the moon is doing. It takes a few outings but you'll start to be able to judge the intensity of the moonlight and your own Twighlight Zone System will emerge.