Street Photography.

K_Pugh

No longer a newbie, moving up!
Reaction score
Well one thing i've been really wanting to do is capture some photography from the streets. I think people make the best subjects in photographs, and that's one thing i very very rarely do, is photograph people.

Whenever i'm in the two cities near me (Glasgow & Edinburgh) there's always lots of things that make me laugh, lots of emotional people, people full of character and all that jazz.. it's always interesting - That's the reason i wanted to take my camera!

I went to Glasgow today to have a stab at it with my 35-80mm lens, i could have used my 70-300mm but i didn't want to cheat or feel like a peeping tom and wanted to break the ice and get right in there.. as it's something i've never done before.

Initially i walked about without even the camera in my hand and didn't feel comfortable whipping it out. Eventually i got it out and took a few architectural shots and started from there. To be honest, i never got many shots off at all.. i just didn't feel right pointing it in peoples faces and i didn't feel comfortable trying to do it "on the fly" by shooting from the hip etc.. and i was so conscious of the loud shutter as well.

I did, however get a few off in a crowd of folk watching some drama act... and once i shot a few in there it was pretty easy to keep going even though i was breathing down peoples necks at the time!.. after i walked into the open streets again i didn't get any off once more.

I did meet one guy though, and well, that's another story which hasn't yet ended which i met let yous in on at a later date, i got his photo but he decided to pose so i didn't want to say no and just took what i could.