Studio Portrait Photography

AlexD70s

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I've been using my DSLR for a couple of years now shooting family, friends, etc and last year I went on cruise vacation and there were studio stations for everyone for everyone to take their formal pictures before dinner.

Is it hard to learn studio portrait photography?

Where/How can I learn?

What equipment / brand names should i buy?

What range in price does the equipment cost (lights, umbrellas, reflectors etc)? I don't want the cheapy stuff...i want the equipment to be durable and last for years.

What lens' are mostly used for studio portrait photography?

If I get good, maybe i'll start a home business....just an idea.

Thanks for reading,

Alex

The 85mm 1.8 is an excellent portrait lens. A good starting place would be to read Strobist.com. It talks mostly about studio lighting, but that is a very important aspect of portraits. One more SB-800 or an alien bee would be good.

Strobist talks about using hot-shoe type flashes, off camera. Which is certainly a possibility for something like this.

Another possibility would be 'studio' strobes...that run on AC power. They are typically more powerful than hot-shot flashes but you need to plug them in, where as flash units run on batteries which makes them much more portable.

One brand of studio lights that a lot of 'entry level' studio photographers are using is Alienbee. There are, of course, other good brands and several that are more 'high end' but I use them and recommend them.

There are plenty of ways to learn about studio lighting. There are many books on the subject, and you might be able to find a course at a community college for example.