"Sweet Spot" for lens...

chainsawal

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I have been shooting as a hobbyist for a few years... slowly collecting good glass along the way. I currently shoot with a D800 (also have a D7000 and D80) and I have all Nikon lens (24-70 f/2.8, 70-200 f/2.8, 50mm f/1.8, new 80-400mm f/4.5 to 5.6, etc) and one Sigma 15mm f/2.8 fisheye.

Obviously when buying "fast" glass... the appeal it how I can now shoot in low light... better bokeh on portraits, etc...

But I also see many people talking about how you need to take that new expensive f/2.8 and "step down" 2-3 steps to get the best tack sharp focus.

Is there some resource out there shows for each lens what the f-stop range that gives the best "tack sharp" focus?

Can someone explain the rationale behind this is it is true?

Shooting inside with strobes or off-camera flash is easy, but I shoot a lot of sports outside where that lowest f/stop matters... and depending on lighting conditions things aren't always sharp.

I was always under the impression you bought fast glass for the ability to use that wide open aperture...

Please advise...

Chainsawal

Personally, I think it's silly to think that you shouldn't use a lens wide-open when the need arises because it's not working "at its sharpest."

You can look your lens up on DxOMark and look through the measurements to find where the lens performs its best if that really bothers you.

Personally, I think it's silly to think that you shouldn't use a lens wide-open when the need arises because it's not working "at its sharpest."

You can look your lens up on DxOMark and look through the measurements to find where the lens performs its best if that really bothers you.

Thanks for the reply...

To your point, I have been using my lens wide open... but keep seeing these post about that not being the sweet spot and felt like a Noob that was missing out on something! :)