Used equipment for beginners?

Shutterdog

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Greetings.

I am currently looking at acquiring my very first dslr, and was thinking of getting it second-hand, but would appreciate opinions from those who actually use such equipment.
Photography for me is a hobby. I played with Canon and Pentax 35mm SLR years ago, doing color and B&W photography. Never actually owned a slr but always wanted to.

I enjoy taking shots of where I travel, and have made quite a few interesting ones regardless of the poor equipment I had on hand.

I was in Australia with my cell phone not long ago when I took shots for a few friends on their dslr, that is when the bug got me... Lol.

As I said I was thinking of going second hand, mainly for two reasons. I don't believe I need 35+Mp - I don't plan to print posters, plus it requires much more storage - and used is generally much cheaper, I am just a hobbyist.

The biggest I foresee doing a print would be 16x20 for the living room. I am thinking 10-12Mp to be an interesting format. I hear it is easier to shop used lens on Nikon, but am not sold on brands. What's the word on best newbe dslr brands???

Unless the shutter count is impressively high, should I steer away from ebay or kijiji/Craigslist?

Thanks for any and all discussion on this topic, it is greatly welcomed.

You can reduce the resolution of a high-resolution body but you can't increase the resolution of a low-resolution body.

There are good places to buy used equipment and there are bad places. B&H, Adorama, and KEH are good places since they rate each piece of used gear they sell and they also warrant it. EBay and Craigslist, not so good.

Thanks for your input.

It is really appreciated.

I am Canadian, and haven't found much in term of second-hand camera stores in Montréal. Maybe there's somewhere that Google doesn't know about.