What Best Lens portrait for [ T7i ]

"Best" doesn't really give us much to go on. What is best for you, may not be best for me etc.

Many would say that the EF 135mm F2 L is one of the best Canon lenses for portraits.
Some people really like the EF 85mm F1.2 L.
I don't have either of those, but I really love my EF 70-200mm F2.8 L for portraits.

I can't comment on Canon-specific glass, but in order of preference:

1. 200mm f2;
2. 135 DC (don't believe there's a Canon equivalent); and
3. 85mm 1.4

For portraits it takes more than 1 lens because there are so many different types of portraits.
One person or multiple people, head shot, head & shoulders, 3/4, full body, in studio, environmental, etc.
When I was still making portraits for a living I had 14 lenses, though a lot of those didn't get used very often.

Like John my favorite portrait lens for 1 or 2 people was a 200 mm f/2 prime lens, with my 135 mm DC f/2 prime second and my 105 mm DC f/2 prime 3rd. For large groups shot outside I usually used a 300 mm f/2.8 prime.
DC stands for Defocus Control, a Nikon feature that lets the photographer selectively soften (defocus) elements in the background or foreground.

There are loads of lenses that can and are used for portraits. (I've seen fantastic portraits taken with tilt-shift lenses ... but would not recommend that for anyone just starting out.)

The Canon EF 70-200mm f/2.8L IS USM II is extremely popular and frequently used as a portrait lens (even though that's not it's intended purposes... it's just that at 200mm & f/2.8... it works really well). This is a very versatile lens and a top lens in the lineup. It's arguably *the* best 70-200 in the industry (and rumor has it that Canon has a version III expected soon). When the lens is used for portraits, it's typically outdoors and at (or near) the 200mm end of the range with a low focal ratio (typically f/2.8 to f/4) and creates very pleasant background blur.