What to consider when switching from DX to FF

pandasnpugs

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
OK, I am a newbie here, but not to dSLR cameras entirely. I just find I have little time to study up. Any advice on what the switch from DX to FF truly means would be helpful. I have been using Nikon for 8 years, switched from Canon film, and have been very happy. Now, I am traveling the world and I almost feel like I need a bridge camera for my bridge camera lol. I currently have the D300s which I LOVE for outdoor sports. I do not like that it is no good in low light. I am using the d3300 (got it for a steal, new!) for my everyday stuff, ie kids, landscape, etc. So, now that I will be traveling a lot and shooting everything from desert conditions to rain forests, Mongolia to Johannesburg, people to action, I do not know WHAT to do. The 300s is not good enough for all conditions, IMHO, and it weighs a lot. The 3300 is good enough for daily but not the things the d300s does well. They kind of overlap in my area of want/need I guess. I am basically wondering if I should step up to the FF d750, or stay with dx and go with the d7000? And..what that change involves.

The lens I am using the most and love is the 18-300 3.5-6.3 VR. I love it to bits and only carry that and a super macro sometimes. So what I need to know is this....Should I take the leap to FF and spend the $2300 or stick with DX and buy the d7100, OR keep the 3300 and 300s, and lug both all over the world? It is seriously keeping me up at night! My biggest complaints about past photos are fuzzy upon enlarging (not huge, just household size), low lighting loss of everything, and weight. In my travels I would almost rather miss a shot altogether than have a blurry, fuzzy mess of one. I hate missing shots, but really wanna combine into one camera. Thanks in advance!