Whats lens should I invest in?

cjmadan

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Hey there. I'm a newbie to photography and this forum. I currently have a Canon T3i with the 18-55 mm kit lens and the 55-250 kit lens as well. I was looking for some opinions on what lens to invest in next. I will be shooting mainly portraits, family portraits and kids. The price doesn't matter too much as I don't mind spending money on something that will give me sharper pictures. Thanks for any opinions!

Price might matter when you hear some of them ;)

For portraits you can consider a few popular options:
Zoom: 24-70mm f2.8 L - very good choice and whilst not as wide as your 18-55mm its a top performing zoom; it is heavy though (its nick name is "the brick").
There are also a range of crop sensor zooms (some just as - optically - good as the zoom above) though I don't know this zoom range all that well so I'll let others chip in.

Primes - 50mm f1.8 is cheap and popular, though the f1.4 is superior in build and general quality (the Sigma f1.4 is currently about the best being a newer design over the canon).
85mm - various options though I don't know them that well myself.
135mm (might be a bit long for general shooting with a crop sensor body - esp indoors).

I was wondring this same thing. Thanks guys for chipping in.

Hey there. I'm a newbie to photography and this forum. I currently have a Canon T3i with the 18-55 mm kit lens and the 55-250 kit lens as well. I was looking for some opinions on what lens to invest in next. I will be shooting mainly portraits, family portraits and kids. The price doesn't matter too much as I don't mind spending money on something that will give me sharper pictures. Thanks for any opinions!

Well, it all depends.