Which Sony A7 to get

MVPernula

TPF Supporters
Supporting Member
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Heya!

I just sold off my D800, D5100 and lenses to compress my excessive collection of stuff I don't use.
This was done in order to get a mirrorless camera, and Sony is as far as I can tell the only manufacturer that produces "cheap" FF mirrorless ones.

My mind is set on the A7ii.
With the equipment I've sold I can basically get a brand new house and a lens (85mm 1.8).
But I'm asking this since I'm not sure it's the right call.
I'm a hobby photographer, mostly drawn to portraits, macro, streetshooting and sometimes landscape/ wide angle shots. With that said I'm fine with the reduction of pixels coming from the D800.

The reason for switching is so that I don't have to use separate cameras for my vintage glass and "real" glass, Nikon has been flat out disappointing with lens compatibility. I'm also more interested in filming, something the Sony also CRUSHES Nikon in. (at least between d800 and the a7i-iii series)

With all that out of the way;
Which Sony A7(i-iii) model will be best suited for me?
I've been looking at the A7ri, but I dislike the thought of having changed to a camera as old as the D800 and the lack of IBIS. Resolution would be a plus, but still.. I hesitate.
The A7ii seems like a good all round option with 24MP, decent FPS, has IBIS while not breaking the bank too much. A7rii would be far too expensive I'm afraid.

Thanks!

I have also been looking recently. Canon's new EOS R is comparible in price to the A7III.
So far, the reviews I have seen on dpreview are favorable in regards to the adapters for the EOS R with mixed (mostly negative) comments on the Sony platform.

I have also been looking recently. Canon's new EOS R is comparible in price to the A7III.
So far, the reviews I have seen on dpreview are favorable in regards to the adapters for the EOS R with mixed (mostly negative) comments on the Sony platform.