desktop computers for photography?

Discussion in 'Photography Equipment & Products' started by rebeccayhb, Jun 3, 2010.

  1. rebeccayhb
    Offline

    rebeccayhb New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    TX since 2005
    Gallery:
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    my TOSHIBA laptop is dying..and I've been using it for almost 6 years by now...
    my husband is going to get me a new one but I told him I'd rather get a desktop since I don't travel that much...

    would anybody give me some suggestions? thank you so much!
  2. Dao
    Offline

    Dao Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2008
    Messages:
    5,970
    Likes Received:
    350
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    St. Louis
    Gallery:
    Ratings:
    +350 / 0
    Hoping this thread will not turn into PC vs Mac type thread that we had once in awhile.;)
  3. bigtwinky
    Offline

    bigtwinky New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2008
    Messages:
    4,805
    Likes Received:
    271
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Montreal
    Gallery:
    Ratings:
    +271 / 0
    I assume your main goal is for photography? Then the main things you need to look at are:

    - high amount of RAM. 4GB at the lowest, more is better
    - high amount of hard drive space. 1TB or more.
    - high quality monitor. Crappy monitors will affect the colours and such of your images. With this, an image calibration software such as the Spyder3 Pro

    This applies to Mac or PC.

    You should also think about a backup solution for your images. It can be as plain as a secondary internal hard drive, or an external hard drive you copy your images to. I had a hard drive crash, non recoverable, and lost a huge chunk of images.
  4. KmH
    Online

    KmH Helping photographers learn to fish

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2009
    Messages:
    34,055
    Likes Received:
    4,067
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Iowa
    Gallery:
    Ratings:
    +4,074 / 1
    Quad 64-bit processor
    Video card with 2 monitor outputs and a GPU with at least 1 GB on memory for OpenGL capability.
    An IPS monitor (not TN)
    2 monitors is better for image editing (image on 1 screen, tools and pallets on screen #2).
    A minimum of 500 GB of internal storage space, preferably 2 internal 500 GB hard drives (1TB), and at least 1 external 500 GB hard drive.
    Plenty of fans to keep everything cool and a big enough power supply to run it all.

    47 USB ports and 14 Firewire ports.
  5. bigtwinky
    Offline

    bigtwinky New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2008
    Messages:
    4,805
    Likes Received:
    271
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Montreal
    Gallery:
    Ratings:
    +271 / 0
    :lol:

    I laugh, but this will probably be true in a few years
  6. robertwsimpson
    Offline

    robertwsimpson New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2009
    Messages:
    2,471
    Likes Received:
    30
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    West Palm Beach, Fl
    Gallery:
    Ratings:
    +30 / 0
    shrug

    I edit my photos on a computer with a dual core 1.8ghz processor, 2 gig of ram, dell monitor, and it has a blue light on the front, which I think helps.
  7. Dao
    Offline

    Dao Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2008
    Messages:
    5,970
    Likes Received:
    350
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    St. Louis
    Gallery:
    Ratings:
    +350 / 0
    Will 46 ports works? :lol:

    BTW, when will the USB 3.0 stuff is going to be available?
  8. robertwsimpson
    Offline

    robertwsimpson New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2009
    Messages:
    2,471
    Likes Received:
    30
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    West Palm Beach, Fl
    Gallery:
    Ratings:
    +30 / 0
    I think when the iPhone 4g comes out.
  9. rebeccayhb
    Offline

    rebeccayhb New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    TX since 2005
    Gallery:
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    haha I hope not! I can't afford to get a MAC right now.
  10. rebeccayhb
    Offline

    rebeccayhb New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    TX since 2005
    Gallery:
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    thank you so much for your info!I'm not a computer geek type girl..so I don't know much about it! my husband takes care of things like this..but apparently I'll have to learn quick!
    and yes I need to have a computer for photography, I already bought a good LG monitor, so now I just need to get a tower.
    I'll look on the features you suggested :)
  11. rebeccayhb
    Offline

    rebeccayhb New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    TX since 2005
    Gallery:
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    wow...this is a lot of tech words...um...
    I really need to catch up on computer learning..:confused:
  12. rebeccayhb
    Offline

    rebeccayhb New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    TX since 2005
    Gallery:
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    thank you! anything will help! for I'm such a computer know-nothing!
  13. KmH
    Online

    KmH Helping photographers learn to fish

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2009
    Messages:
    34,055
    Likes Received:
    4,067
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Iowa
    Gallery:
    Ratings:
    +4,074 / 1
    Yep, sounds like you're about 10 years behind, and the rate at which it advances is speeding up. :D
  14. rebeccayhb
    Offline

    rebeccayhb New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    TX since 2005
    Gallery:
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Yep, sounds like you're about 10 years behind, and the rate at which it advances is speeding up. :D[/QUOTE]

    I started playing with photography stuff two years ago when this TOSHIBA worked just fine. now it's starting to have different problems everyday, I realize I not only need to change a computer, also I need to learn about all the tech stuff!

    big thanks to you for your explanation!!!
  15. icassell
    Offline

    icassell New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2008
    Messages:
    9,893
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Arizona
    Gallery:
    Ratings:
    +9 / 0
    I don't want to hijack this thread, but I have similar interests. My situation is that I don't want to over-buy on a tower that is going to be entirely for photographic use. I currently use my laptop with dock and outboard IPS monitor, but I use the laptop for lots of things including work and I want to dedicate a computer to my hobby. What do you folks think I need to last me for the next couple of years (I already have two 2TB outboard USB drives, two 500MB outboard drives and a good IPS monitor)?

    How much RAM?
    Processor Speed?
    Quad 4 or 6 core (going to run Windows 7 Pro).

    Looking at a Dell XPS 7100 with an AMD 6 Core and 8 GB, but do I really need anwhere near that much? I get the feeling I could do very well with a lot less. I really don't want to build a machine myself and I get good prices from Dell through an employee purchase plan.

    Currently using CS5, LR3, Photomatix, Genuine Fractals 6 and shoot entirely in RAW with my 7D (with file sizes in the 25 MB range per image)

    Thanks.

    I
  16. robertwsimpson
    Offline

    robertwsimpson New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2009
    Messages:
    2,471
    Likes Received:
    30
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    West Palm Beach, Fl
    Gallery:
    Ratings:
    +30 / 0
    If you're also shooting video with your 7d, I say go for it. If not, I'd spend less on a computer and get another lens. You don't need a beast to edit good photos.
  17. rebeccayhb
    Offline

    rebeccayhb New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    TX since 2005
    Gallery:
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    all questions welcome!
  18. icassell
    Offline

    icassell New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2008
    Messages:
    9,893
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Arizona
    Gallery:
    Ratings:
    +9 / 0
    I know I don't need a beast, but what speed do I need to edit and not sit around waiting for things to sharpen, etc?
  19. robertwsimpson
    Offline

    robertwsimpson New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2009
    Messages:
    2,471
    Likes Received:
    30
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    West Palm Beach, Fl
    Gallery:
    Ratings:
    +30 / 0
    I'm running windows 7 with a duo 2.33ghz, 2gb ram, and it works fine for me. I'm dabbling in video editing and with 720p video, it's a bit sluggish... If I were to get a new computer now, I'd either get an imac 27 with all the bells or build my own system... depending on your processor, you might not even be able to use 8gb of ram... after a while, a 32bit system runs out of physical memory addresses... I think the limit is something like 6 gb or 4 or something.
  20. icassell
    Offline

    icassell New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2008
    Messages:
    9,893
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Arizona
    Gallery:
    Ratings:
    +9 / 0
    The AMD core 6 is 64 bit, so that's not an issue for me and the extra memory is on sale cheap. I think I'll just pare the thing down and save a few hundred. I don't want to spend the money on Apple (besides, all my software is windows and I don't want to go through buying all that again :) ).

    I can't see not buying a 64 bit machine if I'm going new ... more and more applications will use it in the couple of years before I upgrade again.

    Thanks.

Share This Page