desktop computers for photography?

rebeccayhb

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
my TOSHIBA laptop is dying..and I've been using it for almost 6 years by now...
my husband is going to get me a new one but I told him I'd rather get a desktop since I don't travel that much...

would anybody give me some suggestions? thank you so much!

Hoping this thread will not turn into PC vs Mac type thread that we had once in awhile.;)

I assume your main goal is for photography? Then the main things you need to look at are:

- high amount of RAM. 4GB at the lowest, more is better
- high amount of hard drive space. 1TB or more.
- high quality monitor. Crappy monitors will affect the colours and such of your images. With this, an image calibration software such as the Spyder3 Pro

This applies to Mac or PC.

You should also think about a backup solution for your images. It can be as plain as a secondary internal hard drive, or an external hard drive you copy your images to. I had a hard drive crash, non recoverable, and lost a huge chunk of images.

Quad 64-bit processor
Video card with 2 monitor outputs and a GPU with at least 1 GB on memory for OpenGL capability.
An IPS monitor (not TN)
2 monitors is better for image editing (image on 1 screen, tools and pallets on screen #2).
A minimum of 500 GB of internal storage space, preferably 2 internal 500 GB hard drives (1TB), and at least 1 external 500 GB hard drive.
Plenty of fans to keep everything cool and a big enough power supply to run it all.

47 USB ports and 14 Firewire ports.

shrug

I edit my photos on a computer with a dual core 1.8ghz processor, 2 gig of ram, dell monitor, and it has a blue light on the front, which I think helps.

Will 46 ports works? :lol:

BTW, when will the USB 3.0 stuff is going to be available?

I assume your main goal is for photography? Then the main things you need to look at are:

- high amount of RAM. 4GB at the lowest, more is better