70-200 To VR or not to VR?

jeph

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I want to upgrade to a 70-200 2.8. I have been lusting after the Nikon VRII but I have a little difficulty justifying the $2400. I am not a pro, but I do like to take great and sharp images. The lens will be used for many things but the emphasis will be on panning motorsports shots generally taken at 1/125 or faster and sometimes with flash. Lens reviews that I read mention 4 stops at like 1/40 which I won't really be using. Here is my question; should I get the more than half price sigma with no VR or the big bad VRII? Also, at those shutter speeds how important is VR?

Thanks.

To me, VR is one of those things that if you have to ask if you need it, then you typically don't. As far as the Sigma goes, for the same money you can pick up a VG condition Nikon 80-200 f/2.8 with nearly as good IQ as the 70-200VR, and it will hold it's value better than the Sigma will if you do decide to upgrade later.

Obviously, the Nikon is clearly the better lens, both optically and mechanically, and it also comes with a five year USA warranty and will have high resale value compared to a Sigma. VR is nice for smoothing out really slow-speed pans, like those done at 1/3 to 1/15 second, when you want to really convey a fluid motion blur type of feeling. VR really helps quell camera movement, and it allows you to shoot in low light situations without a tripod, and keep the camera steady, so it's valuable in that area. I dunno...I bought the VR-1 the week it came out, and payed $1699, back in April of 2003,and the lens has held up very well and has held a lot of its value; a Sigma will not hold nearly the same value percentage.