An attempt at product photos

2WheelPhoto

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I'm brand new to product but wanted to give it a try. I'm more comfortable shooting breathing people by far. Can anyone see an obvious pattern going on here where I'm going down the wrong path or can improve something? I figure 4 photos should point it out.

I know the pics aren't good because when I look at the products on line for sale the pics are MUCH better
bigthumb.gif

1) (the soft spot on the front is a real smear)
SRW_3661.jpg

2)
SRW_3689.jpg

3)
SRW_3676-2.jpg

4)
SRW_3177-Edit.jpg

5)
SRW_3156-Edit-Edit.jpg

My assistant gets credit for anything done right =)
SRW_3681.jpg

bump for a litle help?

Well, the first thing that jumps out at me is that the products are cut by your framing in almost all of the photos. The wine glass is quite nice as more of a stylistic product shot, but 1, 2 and 5's crops just aren't working for me.

3 Works better because of the orientation of the photo and less negative space. The exposure looks pretty decent on all of them though.

Thank you very much, I'll be practicing more and will work on that. I was hoping to hear some pattern that I can change rather than repeat on and on and I appreciate it.

The biggest thing I'd look out for is just watching your crops (and I don't mean plants). Once you conquer that, the lighting tweaks and whatnot should come pretty easy. You just need to be a little wider for some of these and they'll work better. :thumbup:

In addition to Tyler's comments, remember that in a product shot, the product needs to be identifiable, especially if it's something like hand-tools, which all look similar at a distance. The brand-name/trade-mark/logo, etc should always be clear and tack-sharp. For instance, in #s 2 & 3, if you had turned the wrench on it's "side" so that we could read "Craftsman" straight on, it would improve things greatly.