Camera reflection in metal

chriswakefield

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hello all.

Really in need of advice here. :(

I work as a graphic designer for a firm near Leeds. They have asked me to start taking their photos for their website and brochure, (kind of dropped in it). Now I have always enjoyed photography (outdoors, fine art, etc), but product photography is new to me. I have looked for course, but they are expensive. I have tried to find my solution through books etc and I have had no luck. Bascially the products are fine art brushes. My studio space is limited and I am using a tent, soft box, and lights on each side and shooting live view via the Canon EOS Utility (see attached). Limited equipment also.
I am shooting directly above as they asked. The problem the metal brush ferals are reflecting the camera. So in some of the shots you can see this. Is there a way round this? Any advice would be much appreciated. I don't want to let them down. Please see the photos below.

Thanks

Chris

setup.jpg
SET 50.jpg
IMG_0007.jpg

This all relates to the position, intensity, and type of diffusion used on your lights (also, your Blu-Tac is showing!). I would suggest getting a copy of the lighting bible.

As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.
Thanks.. I will buy it now. This image will be cropped and is just a reference image, so ignore the blue tac thanks. :)

It's also perfectly normal to have to do some post work on images such as this. Working with round metal, it can be a challenge to get things 'just right' and it often saves a lot of time to just "photoshop" minor issues.

Sorry for duplicating this post. I thought I posted it in the wrong section.
Thanks.. apprecaited..Yeah I just wondered if there was a way to remedy this before, as I have 100's of these to do. The book looks great. Cheers.