Everyone thinks they can be a pro! (RANT)

Alleh Lindquist

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Website
www.allehphotography.com
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
So this is not a rant because I don't like competition because this is not about that. I don't compete in the markets I am referring to anyway. Just because digital has made it easier to produce a picture it has not made it easier to produce a good picture.

I still wonder what makes people think photography does not take the same amount of practice, skill and dedication as any other professional title. "Hey everyone I just bought a Porsche so now I am a lawyer, what should my attorney fees be." Your Costco bought D80 kit, that super great best bang for the buck 50 1.8 and your 5 months of shooting “TONS” of photos of your family does not even come close to making you a “photographer”

This practice has basically degraded the entire level of quality in weddings, portraits, seniors, families and event photographs.

I would be happy to entertain your opinions but my mind is pretty much made up that most people that think they can make a career as a photographer suck so much they should almost give it up as a hobby.

A simple answer to your question of why... one word... ignorance. Ignorance of what it takes to become a GOOD photographer and the public's ignorance of what are professional results worthy of their money.

As far as quality dropping... the ONLY ones for whom the quality is dropping are the ones cheaping out and settling for low quality results. Be that clients or the photographers themselves.

Quality amongst the TRUE professionals is not dropping but evolving and yes, I would even say improving. There are some out there that are nothing short of incredible, innovative and awe inspiring and definately put the kabosh on people saying that the quality of the industry is falling down the tubes.