Expectations When Going out to Shoot

AlexGavillan

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Website
www.instagram.com
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hello friends :) So we had a family outing to SeaWorld this weekend with the family and decided to take the camera to try and snap some keepers. Couldn't get any great pics of any animals with my current lens setup, 35mm and 18-55mm Kit lens, not enough reach for anything not in my face :)

So I think I just assume that I cant take my camera out and just point and shoot and bring home these AMAZING photos, if anything all I'm capturing are some snapshots, if you will of a family outing. Now, I know if I wasn't with my 2.5 year old and wife, I could take a LOT more time in finding a nice composition, waiting for the moment and capture something amazing.

Since I am still a novice to say the least, I REALLY need to think about composure and what the story I want to tell, and set expectations with myself.

I think I'm looking for some affirmation haha or something along those lines? Its rare that I get a chance to go out on my own for a photo walk kind of thing, at least during the day with a 2.5 year old :) I swear im not blaming the baby haha, just being a good husband and dad :)

I think you should enjoy your family outings and just take snapshots. Sometimes I think we get caught up in technicalities and composition etc. Later on when your kids are older those "snapshots " will be invaluable.

Sent from my SM-G965F using Tapatalk

What I did/do for places like Sea World, Disney etc was to let family time be family time and use my phone camera or put my dslr in A mode and snap away for snapshots. If at all possible, I would get an hour or two on my own when everyone else was sleeping in or napping and I would go out and get my non family photos. If you want the photo time, you need to give up the zzz's or trade off with the spouse for an hour and give each of you a little me time.