First DSLR, have a few questions

Pacman322

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
I ordered my first DSLR last night, i've been using a Kodak Z612 for a few years and thought it was time to move to an SLR.

I purchased a Canon XSI Refurbished with a 90 day canon warranty and the 18-55mm EF-S Kit lens.

It's a Canon refurb, so i'm hoping everything works fine as i've heard good things about their refurbs. But, what should i check over when it arrives to make sure there are no problems with it? I know the basics of what i should check over, but i'm afraid i might miss something so i figured i'd ask people more experienced than me.

I also got a PQI Class 6 8 8GB SDHC card with it, this should be fine for me right? As long as it holds around 500-600 pictures or more that should be good enough for me. Is it fast enough to handle burst mode as well?

I also am going to grab the lens hood that canon sells for the 18-55mm lens (EW-60C), a spare battery, a decent case, canon lens cleaning kit, and possibly a remote. That's pretty much everything i need until i start getting to know the camera better right?

Congrats on the new purchase...you will have a blast...

With regards to the lens hood. I would hold off, if the bug bites you, which it likely will, you will quickly find yourself wanting a new lens (something faster), and the kit lens will be relegated to diminished duty if not sold outright. The hood will be a wasted investment at that point.

On the SD cards, that 8GB card should be fine. I have preferred to use multiple smaller cards, in case of a malfunction, or accidental "delete all" or format, you may not lose all the data on the card if you've switched between a couple of cards or more...

I have never owned a refurb item, but I would go through the manual exploring all the functions as if it were new. That should cover everything, it is under warranty anyhow if you find something. Perhaps the fit and finish may require a second look...