Hello. New member here and complete beginner photographer

Shutterpug

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Hello all. I joined this site because A. I want to take up photography and B. I haz questions. :bouncingsmileys: Oh look I've already figured out how to work the smileys! Anyway my OCD dictates that I must put my questions in numbered lists so here goes.

1. If I have a photograph that is 4x6-ish (the 4 is exact the 6 is the ish) what size picture frame should I get for it?
2. I want to get started in photography but I have almost no money. Is there any shame in using an ancient camera that takes actual film?
3. I want a camera that is better than just some point and shoot sixty dollar dsl camera from the local Wally-world. I have perused the local offerings limited though they are and was wondering if I should get a kit or just a camera? What comes in a 'kit' normally? Thanks in advance.

Also as a last minute thought the ancient camera in question is an Olympus something or other. Like I said I'm absolutely brand spanking new to photography and haven't taken pictures on anything but a smart phone (blasphemy I know) and even then it was just some random thing that I didn't bother to keep.

Welcome to TPF

#1 - try a 4x6 frame

There's no blasphemy in using a cell phone. I use one all the time. I also had a mirrorless and have DSLRs.

# 2 Keep in mind with film, you're gonna have to spend money on film processing either by sending out the film or buying the equipment and chemicals to do it yourself. With a digital camera, there's no cost after the initial purchase to just use it. But many people like film and we have many film users here.

# 3 a normal kit, if it has a removeable lens, normally will have a 18-55 lens on it. Great for getting started.
After that price dictates features in a way. And then your own preferences on ergonomics, etc.

Thank you butterfly man.:1247: Also why does it seem like photography is a rich mans hobby?