How to capture reflections?

What do you think is/are the most important for shooting photo with reflection?

• Camera

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • Lighting

Votes: 7 77.8%
  • Shutter speed

Votes: 1 11.1%
  • Aperture

Votes: 2 22.2%
  • ISO

• White balance

• Other techniques

Votes: 2 22.2%

• Total voters

tony_1242

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hi all, I am a beginner in photography. Recently I am obsessed by those photos with clear reflections (not shadows). I find that it is easier to shoot photos like this outdoor with prefect sunlight and views. However, it is a totally different story indoor.

I read some article about this and bought a pure black and a pure transparent acrylic sheets for shooting. Without enough experience in lighting and photography, the reflections were hard to see. Or even worse, the pictures ended up with wrong exposure.

It is a big challenge for the beginners, so it will be great if anyone can share the valuable experience with us,thanks!

Last edited:
As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.
Hi 480sparky, I had just previewed this book online, and I believe it would be really helpful. Thank you for your good suggestion.

Hi all, I am a beginner in photography. Recently I am obsessed by those photos with clear reflections (not shadows). I find that it is easier to shoot photos like this outdoor with prefect sunlight and views. However, it is a totally different story indoor.

I read some article about this and bought a pure black and a pure transparent acrylic sheets for shooting. Without enough experience in lighting and photography, the reflections were hard to see. Or even worse, the pictures ended up with wrong exposure.

It is a big challenge for the beginners, so it will be great if anyone can share the valuable experience with us,thanks!
Okay, a bunch of comments.