I'm a newbie: First C&C Post

I honestly have NO idea what my value will be. I think about it all the time and I try to calculate different things in my head, and I've even set pricing and told myself I was going to start charging, but then I go online and find a zillion other photographers that are better than I am, and I change my mind, haha! I know that I'm a terrible business person. I'd rather give away everything for free or next to nothing, even though I know that logically that business model doesn't work, lol! I definitely would like to see your tutorial, though. I wish I could upload my portfolio to some sort of photography decoding program (yes, I know these don't exist, just go with me here for a second...) and have it tell me how far I've come and WHEN it'll be time to do this professionally. Okay, I think I'm rambling... I'll send you a note as soon as I figure out how to and I'd really appreciate the link to the tutorial. :)

But they do, it's called a mentoring program and you can find a mentor on here or locally, work with them, let them teach ya and they can keep you on track. Try local photography clubs, be an intern, etc, etc,. They'll put a value on your work. :thumbup:

how does one find a mentor on here? Just throw it out there and ask?

Thanks for the advice Vince!

^Same question as TMB. Are there willing mentors on this forum?

I just wanted to say for five months, that's not too shabby of a job. I'm really trying to appreciate the whole baby photography niche but I can't get past the kid stuffed in a basket with the same baseboard in a lot of pictures these days. Did you guys all visit the same website for ideas? :lol: