Lens Recommendations?

CGR

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I'm looking for some Canon lens recommendations for portraits and candids of active children. I have a 5D Mark III. I am not a professional with no plans to be. I've just been disappointed time and time again in utilizing professionals to take photos of my children. So, for the past couple years I've been learning all I can. Recently made the leap to full frame. Just started using Lightroom. Photography is the one thing I do for myself so while cost is always a factor, I'm willing to pony up $2,000 if I have to. I'll sell all my clothes for the right lens (not my childrens clothes! don't worry!).

I'm looking specifically for a portrait lens to capture photos of my kids. Mostly outdoors. They are very, very active (read- running all the time). I'm thinking about the 85mm 1.8 (because it is a good value and faster/lighter than the 1.2). But I currently have a 50mm 1.4 and feel this might be too similar? I also have a 24-105mm f4, which also overlaps this range. I just really don't like the f4. I thought it would be ok and it is a very versatile lens but I really want at least a 2.8 or lower.

I'm also thinking about the 70-200mm 2.8 IS II, which sounds awesome in every way. Except it is so obtrusive. Honestly, I would be embarrassed to have this lens at a party (I even changed my camera strap because I didn't want people knowing I have a Mark III). Of course it is also heavy and expensive. But is it worth the weight, expense and "embarrassment"? For my purposes, I'm thinking it might be.