LICENSING QUESTION... PLEASE HELP ME!

2KMILER

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
A medium sized bank has contacted me to purchase rights to one of my photogrpahs. I am new to this side of the business, and I am struggling with a figure to even begin with negotiations, as this is a somewhat unique scenario:

The Bank wants to put my image on their Credit/Debit cards. Anywhere from 10,000-30,000 images.

Does anyone have ANY idea on what I should charge? This is not a magazine. This is DAILY USE of my image for over 5 years.

Here's my math:
If 10,000 cards are issued, and say the average person uses that card twice daily, then that equates to 7,300,000 uses of my image a year, and 36,500,000 for 5 years.

This is not a print ad, and have no way of getting a figure... HOW MUCH SHOULD I CHARGE? Your help will be much appreciated.

Congratulations!
when you are figuring amounts, the 10,000 printed cards is the total amount. You don't really count each time someone swipes their personal card at Starbucks as a usage. Now, 10K cards is nothing to sneeze at.
Check out John Harrington's website. he has a nice estimator on jobs like this.
Washington DC Photographer: Pricing - Corporate/Marketing Photography
If you want to consider the card as a 'brochure" $1280 PER year ( x5) comes up. Remember it is a bank, so don't hold back your punches.
Now if they want the copyright, 15,000 is fair depending on the image. the highest I've ever sold one was $17,500.
Anyway, Check out Johns site. Hope it helps.

Last edited: