Need help/advice w/pet photography lighting equipment question for cat rescue group?

froggy1

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Hi everyone,

I am the founder/administrator of Froggy's Cat Rescue, a cat rescue group in Jacksonville Fl. I am not a professional photographer and have never taken a photography class but have a decent camera, a Canon EOS Rebel T3 and I have some experience with the dos and donts for good adoption ads photos. I use the camera mainly to take pictures of our foster cats for their adoption ads. Lately, the weather has been so crappy that we have had a hard time with the photo shoots although my house has a lot of natural daylight. I don't want to use the flash as it gives cats a creepy glowy look and, a lot of times, they close their eyes when it goes off so we try to schedule the photo shoots on a nice sunny day. I am looking at possibly purchasing an umbrella setup but I have no idea what would be the best thing to buy. The pictures are always done inside. As a rescue, we don't have much money to spare for this so a small price is a must. It doesn't have to be fancy or have lots of bells and whistles. Just good enough to allow us to take good pictures when the weather is just not cooperating. I've been watching tutorials on lighting equipment but it's very confusing to me. Can anyone please help point me in the right direction? Our max budget is definitely under $200. The lower the better as the money we have is needed for the medical care of our foster cats. Here are some pictures I took today so you can see what I try to accomplish with this. My goal is to create a connection between the adopter and the cat with solid eye contact and to bring the personality thru with the picture. Any and all suggestions would be greatly appreciated. You can email me directly at [email protected]. Thank you :)

$mia1.JPG$molly1.JPG$mona1.JPG$201407200019.JPG