Supercool0076

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Hey guys,

I am a Student and really like travelling and meeting new people. Since I travel a lot, I click lots of pictures. I am a novice and doesn't know much about the technicalities of cameras but know little. I am looking for a budget camera (200 - 350 euros) with manual focus (basically for blurry backgrounds..(sometimes) ) and decent optical zoom. I was going through web and cameras like Nikon l840 .. sony rx100 seems to me as good options. If you guys could help me out and suggest, it would be a big deal. Thank you.

Manual focus has little to do with producing blurry backgrounds. Aperture, the size of the sensor, the focal length, and the closeness of your focus point are for most intents and purposes what you need to think about when you are looking to produce blurry backgrounds.

Do note that there are four iterations of the Sony RX100 (i, ii, iii, and iv). Do not make the mistake of reading a review for the Sony RX100 iv, and then purchase a cheaper Sony RX100 i, ii, or iii. They're older models. I have read that the 4k (video) feature built into the RX100 lasts for 5 minutes of video, and then you have to wait a while or it will overheat. I'm not sure if this has been fixed. I also hear it's a fairly good compact camera.

I think either camera you have listed are decent all-in-one cameras.

You are on an enthusiast website. You will get some sound advice. You will get some ridiculous advice. Most will direct you toward investing in a DSLR (a camera that you can put different lenses on). If you are interested in investing more over time and purchasing lenses, that's a possibility. The all-in-one cameras you have listed will do a lot more for you if you just want to buy once and be done, and not spend time learning how to edit photos. It depends on what you want, how much time you want to invest into learning, and how much money you want to invest over time.