opinions please - would you do this wedding?

jme_cay

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I have an issue I need opinions on. My good friends sister is getting married and asked me to take her wedding photos and wanted to know what I would charge. I told her I have little experience with weddings and don't really plan on doing weddings, at least not anytime soon. I'm not quite a beginner anymore, but definately not wedding ready. She is on a tight budget and says she really just wants snapshots. Just curious I asked her what her budget was and she said "as cheap as possible". (So I'm thinking she wants free because I'm her sisters friend..). I'm leery (sp?) of doing this because I don't really want to be responsible for someones wedding photos when I'm not very experienced. When I say that, I have done one wedding but ONLY because it was a close personal friend who wouldn't have had any wedding pictures other than what guests took with their own cameras, because they truly couldn't afford it. She was so thrilled with the pictures that she cried when she saw them (she obviously didn't expect much lol). I on the other hand was not so pleased with them. My friends sister that is asking me now, is on a budget but if I don't do the pictures she can get someone else to. Mostly I think she just wants free or really really cheap pictures from me. (She says she's broke but she obviously has the money to go out partying every weekend..). So I don't know what to do. Do the pictures and gain some experience or just say no. I showed her the photos from the other wedding and she said she would be happy with something like that.. I also feel like every picture you do for someone is an advertisement for your work. I don't want to do less than ideal wedding photos and people to associate that with my name. I mostly do photography as a hobby, for now, it's just something I love to do. I am interested in senior, children, pet (mostly horse) and family