some times i like noise

bribrius

Been spending a lot of time on here!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
far as image noise. I try to use it for effect on occasion. I like it. I compare it to film grain. I know no one else that does this.

I don't like noise. I have a toddler. Silence is a VERY rare phenomenon.

OH, ok, I get it now. I do compare noise to grain, but I'm not really into it. Sometimes I like film grain though.

I compare it to film grain. I know no one else that does this.

Everyone I know does this.
Really???????????????????

That makes me feel better. Everyone I know asks me why I do it!!!! They like crystal clear photos! Thanks!

I was the same way until I started shooting some bands at dark clubs. I think it adds to the image
$DSC_4170-2.JPG

I grew up shooting Tri-X Pan in 35mm size....loads of grain were an integral part of EVERY single image made with Tri-X. To me, and to hundreds of millions of older people across the globe, we can look at a picture and SEE "the picture" even if it has some noise. But it seems like a lot of people who are new to photography, or who began with digital cameras, have a very strong reaction to noise. I see loads of internet critiques that mention, "Bad, bad noise", and "Pretty high noise level," and things like that, as if noise is really a serious limitation that can never be overcome, no matter how awesome the PICTURE might be. It's one of the things that many people focus on, to the exclusion of "the PICTURE" that is formed in those millions of dirty, awful,nasty, noisy pixels.

It's a lot like the people who whine and complain about the head on a beer drawn from a keg...they really don't have a firm grasp on the whole beer thing...