What about photography school?

badwolf18

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Hello! I would like to start off by saying that I love photography and I have been shooting as a hobby for several years now. I usually use my old film SLR camera since I don't have much cash, but recently I have been borrowing my dad's DSLR to shoot pictures of my sister for her fashion blog once a week. I am considering starting a freelance photography business, but I am not sure about where to start.
My main question is should I go to school for this? I am considering signing up at the New York Institute of Photography and I am wondering if this is a good school and if it would be worth the time and money to go there, or to any other school for that matter. I live in Albuquerque and relocation is not an option at this time, so if the best school is on the east coast or some such place then obviously I am unable to go there. I am just curious what you guys think on this subject and your help would be appreciated, thanks!

Aside from a formal business education as above, you can benefit from free online help sites that will help with artistic expression.

There are tons of free resources to learn photography. The NYIP is a joke. Check your local community college (many have online classes as well as traditional classes) for a degree in Business. That will help with the hard part. And practice practice practice shooting. This is the only way you get better.

NYIP is a joke.

IAgree 100%. I took the full program, and it took me almost 3 years of forcing myself to listen/read/watch all the outdated curriculum. The only reason I finished it was because my employer paid for it and I didn't want to have to pay back the +$700 that it cost.

Don't waste your time or money. There is so much online now, that's current, and much more relevant.

The only good thing I really got out of this course was a pretty diploma.