TPF Supporters
Supporting Member
Reaction score
Website
www.elizabethpagewalker.com
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
$IMG_5379.jpg

This is my first attempt at anything similar to "studio" lighting (it was basically a huge wrinkly white sheet spread across my friend's apartment with an incadescent house lamp pointed at the subject) with an overhead as well.

We also had lighting coming from a window.

Let me know what you think. It's obviously a very amateur photo and it was very hard to replicate real life. I had a lot of problems during the shoot. :confused:

Skin tone looks pretty yellowish. Showing a fair amount of cleavage. The far eyelash looks a bit weird in a portrait, seen just sort of peeking out behind her nose. Overall not a very refined pose.

I struggled to get natural skin tone out of this and I'm sure others can do better - setting white balance from the background gave very blue results so I reduced yellow and orange saturation in HSL instead - probably overdid it. I did notice while tweaking that the model has lush red hair, which hasn't been reproduced in your version which looks dark brown. Maybe a second fill light behind your right shoulder would have helped?

$IMG_5379-3.jpg

Last edited:
$0.02:

• Don't shoot portraits at f/1.8 - You missed the focus completely here.
• If you're going to shoot that sort of profile, either show none of the far eye, or all of it. - Like Derrel mentioned, that far eye looks weird.
• WB looks odd

I think I'd rather have seen this with just light from the window; there's nothing interesting about what you did with the extra lights.

you should use f/5.6 for general portraits .. at least that's what I've learned. Yeah, I still like to go down to f/2.8 because I can, and fiddling with 1.8 is fun too.