Whats the equipment that "Picture People" use?

from_iowa

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Probably been asked before, but I searched and couldn't find it so I'm asking it.

I want to start my own photography studio where I just do family pictures at my studio, just like Picture People does. So I called Picture People and they told me they use 40D Canon camera. Now what I want to know is what are all the equipment that they used. For example light, camera lens and so on. I am asking because I don't dislike their pictures and wouldn't mind doing the same quality and it seems like they always only have 1 settings that works for everything. Basically I want to see how much would it cost to buy all the things to start a studio doing the same thing Picture People does, minus the printing. I'm asking this way because I am very new to photography and just imitating them would be easier.

The local Picture People store closed about 2 years ago.

Copying their set up and business model may not be a sound business decision.

Dear from; just as Keith has written, it might not be the best idea to copy a business model that has failed.

The cost of getting into a professional studio can be anywhere from (realistically) $10,000 to $50,000, not including the studio space.

Some professionals could possibly get by on a shoestring budget of less than $5,000, but they would be working within constraints.

Mods, please note; I am not flaming this noob.