Which camera to buy?

jtyson

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I know this has been asked thousands of times, but I'm here to do it again. Situation dictates what I can get, because it will be financed through a family member. I'm self employed and can't qualify on my own. They want me to go through Conn's. Not my first choice, but hey, they are doing me a favor, so it is what it is. Normally I'd save and buy a used camera for cash, but I want something before I leave to Colorado this weekend, and I can't come up with the money in time.

I'm totally new to all this. I have a general understanding of simple concepts, but I am no photography expert. I'm intending to use the camera for landscape type shots while I'm on road trips, to take pictures of the items I sell, and of course family functions and such. I don't think I'll be doing much video, but I wouldn't mind having the capability. I'd like to have something that won't be obsolete next month.

Here are the cameras I'm considering. I've looked at Snap Sort and seen specs and such, but I know that should be taken with a grain of salt because there are more things to consider than specs.

Nikon D3200 w/ 18-55mm lens - $500
Canon T3i w/ 18-55mm lens - $650
Nikon D5200 w/18-55mm lens - $800
Nikon D5200 w/18-55mm and 55-200mm vibration reduction lenses - $950
Canon 60D w/18-135mm lens - $1300

Of course I'd like to save money, but I don't want to price myself into a model that is on it's way out the door. I like the idea of having a flip out screen for odd shots above my head or on the ground. I'm fairly sure I'd like to have a telephoto lens, but I don't know if it is something that is a necessity for the cost at this point. Also don't know the quality of the lenses that come in these kits. I've read online that none of these have WIFI, but Nikon has an adapter that can be used to transfer pics to my phone. Not sure if that would be useful or not.