Compensation adjustments when softproofing with ICC profiles

PhotoGramly

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
So in preparation for trying to print some images, I found the ICC profile for the printer they'll be using (Fuji_Frontier_DryLab4x0_PD_v3a if it helps to know that), and I've softproofed with it, and it changes the image pretty noticeably. I know that's how it works, but the trouble is I can't seem to make the right adjustments to get it back looking the way it originally did, the way I want it to print.

On the surface it seems like fairly basic changes, like with contrast, saturation and skin tone, but even when I make changes to try and compensate it still doesn't look right. That may just mean I'm not very good at knowing how to make the right adjustments, and I can show examples if people want, but I was wondering if there's a way to find exactly what and how the profile changes things, so that I can make more precise changes to fix it without just kind of guessing and fiddling around. No such luck with cursory google searches, but that may just be because I don't know the right search terms. Any other ideas?

Is your display calibrated and profiled?
What application (software) are you using to soft proof?
What rendering intent do you have selected?

An accurate soft proof also requires a display that is capable of reproducing the full range of colors the print will have.
Which is why Adobe recommends using a display having a color bit depth of 16 bits.
Displays in the couple hundred $$$ price range often only have a 6-bit color depth. Displays from there to the couple thousand $$$$ price range usually have a 10 bit color depth.
If the display isn't fully capable regards the color bit depth it can display, it can often still provide a helpful, if not accurate soft proof for those colors which it can produce (as long as one is also aware of those which it cannot).