Fashion catalogue photography - Tools needed?

ElChapo

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Hi everyone,

I'm completely new to photography so posting here in the hope of some personal advice from this fantastic community.

The purpose of my photography endeavours are primarily to shoot some photographs for my clothing company. I have purchased a Nikon D3300 as my first DSLR and have been watching some online tutorials from photographers like Lara Jade (for fashion-related info) and FroKnowsBest (for general photography understanding).

I'm ok for now with my lighting setup, it's more the lenses which are my point of confusion so if anyone can offer some assistance it would be massively appreciated:

The lens which came with my D3300 was a 18-55mm 1:3.5-5.6 G VR lens.

However, from the test shots I've been doing the lens doesn't really seem to encompass full outfits etc and something about the photos seems a little off.

The lens recommended by Lara Jade for beginner fashion photography was a 35mm so I'm looking at a NIKON AF-S DX NIKKOR 35 mm f/1.8 G SWM Standard Prime Lens. This doesn't seem to be VR but I'll be using my camera only on a tripod so does that make much of a difference?

Here's some pictures of the type of photos I'll be looking to create (both full-body and detailed close-ups mainly). Is upgrading the lens a good idea or should I stick with what I have?

Full_Size_Render_48.jpg

Full_Size_Render_47.jpg

Thank you all massively in advance!

get further away from the models to avoid geometrical distortion.

Better take a bigger room and shoot an 80mm to 120mm equivalent

Last edited:
Hi and welcome to the forum.
I´d say the lens to use would be dependent on how your "studio" is set up. the more space you have (the length front to back), the longer the lens I´d choose and step back.
For the shot below I used a 70mm lens on a full frame body. That would be approximately a 50mm for your camera.