The changes in firmware are usually described on the downloads page. Let's go through this reset, because what you are describing still doesn't make sense to me. Go to the little wrench in menu then use the multi-selector to get to the "Reset all settings" menu then push the OK button to see 2 items, reset (gray background) and Do not reset (yellow background). Use the multi-selector (up) to turn the reset item to yellow then use the multi-selector (right this time) to see the menu "! All settings will be reset. Once reset, settings cannot be restored. OK? " Use the multi-selector (up) to turn the Yes to Red then hit the OK button in the lower left corner of the back of your camera.