lens advice

hayleyfraser24

No longer a newbie, moving up!
Reaction score
Website
hayleyfraserphotography.co.uk
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Hey everyone, so ive got a sony a290 dslr with just the standard lens that came with it. Im still only a newbie really and am enjoying all different types of photography. It is only a hobby for now but im looking to upgrade. I know that there is not a lens that suits all types of photography but idealy im looking for something along those lines! As im not a proffesional photographer but would like to invest a bit more money into my hobbie what would you recommend? My brother said I should forget a new lens and get a nikon d700 but thats about 1000 bucks. My budget is more like 500. Im mainly into fine art photography, landscapes and still life but I also like taking photos of people, candid and portrait? I know thats quite a wide range but im just trying out lots of things for now. Should I be investing in a zoom lens? When looking online im only getting more confused. Thanks for any advice in advance!:)

My advice is don't buy anything just yet. Work with the gear you've got and learn more about photography in general, and find out what it is that you can't do with your current gear that you want to do. Then, once you've sorted that out, spend some money. Wayyy too many people can tell you stories of "I wish I'd waited 'til I knew more about ... before I bought...".

My advice is don't buy anything just yet. Work with the gear you've got and learn more about photography in general, and find out what it is that you can't do with your current gear that you want to do. Then, once you've sorted that out, spend some money. Wayyy too many people can tell you stories of "I wish I'd waited 'til I knew more about ... before I bought...".

wise words.
don't get caught up in the 'more gear is the answer'
take pictures and figure it out.