Should I sell my D7000?

itf

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Okay. So I got my X100 last Wednesday and I've been debating if I should keep my D7000 or not.

Reasons why I want to keep it:
1. There might be times when I would need to use a different focal length.
2. Better pictures
3. Faster, no shutter delay
4. More dials, easier to change settings.

Reasons why I want to sell:
1. Size (It's pretty big for me to bring out all the time)
2. I use it like once every 2 months, so now that I have a X100, I would probably use it even less. I've had it for about 5 months and shutter count is at 600.
3. Cost (I could sell it and just keep the money for other purposes such as travel)

The main reason is that I use it so little now, and with a X100 I'll probably use it even less. I mainly take pictures of landscape, sometimes family. I'm just a hobbyist, so is it worth it to keep both cameras?

That sounds like a hard one. The D7000 is a great camera and being able to swap lenses for different focal lengths etc can be indispensable if you go beyond casual shooting. I personally would hold onto it for a while to see if you go back to it at all. Maybe take both of them with you to see if you find yourself reaching for the Nikon. I know it's hard after spending so much on both cameras...

Hang onto it instead of making a knee-jerk decision. If, after the summer, you really don't use it, then I'll be happy to send you $25 for it.

The reason I want to sell it now is because I'll get more back for it NOW then waiting a few months. If I do sell it, I'm selling it to a friend, so it's not like I wouldn't have access to a dslr or I could get a cheaper dslr for the times that I need it.

Also, most of my pictures are wide angle shots. I rarely use a telephoto.

What I'm trying to ask is if it's worth keeping an extra camera if I'm only going to use it a few times a year.

Last edited: